Home > Port Elizabeth Bowling Club

Port Elizabeth Bowling Club

Eastern Cape > Gqeberha > Park Drive

Add to travel planner


Founded in 1882, the Port Elizabeth Bowling Club was the first official Bowling Club in South Africa, with the first Green being built at a cost of £48-10s, at this club, and is still being played on today, appropriately named Founders Green.
In August 1898 the Rt. Hon. Cecil John Rhodes turned the first sods, to have another green at the club, and having it named after him known as Rhodes Green.

Today the Club boasts 4 Bowling Greens namely Founders, Rhodes, Loch and Prince of Wales which was completed in 1926, as the name suggests, it coincided with a visit by the Prince of Wales to South Africa in 1925.

The Club still boasts the original trophies and memorabilia of the bowls matches being played through the century, and can be admired in the club house and bar.

The club is situated off Park Drive in the scenic settings of the St Georges Park which is accessible from the club.

Visitors will be welcome to view the Greens, Club house and memorabilia over a cup of Tea or a drink in the pub.
However arrangements will be required to have the Pub and drinks available for visiting Tour parties.
Contact / ReservationsPort Elizabeth Bowling Club

Alternatively contact the TOURISM call centre on +27 (0) 41 585 8884


Latitude : -33° 58' 2.50" S | Longitude : 25° 36' 25.66" E


Car Parking Available Yes
Day Visitors Allowed Yes
Disabled Access Yes


Things to See and Do

Adventure & Sports

Historical Places




South African