Home > Prince Alfred's Guard Museum

Prince Alfred's Guard Museum

Location
Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Central

Add to travel planner

Description

The Prince Alfred's Guard Museum grew out of a fusion of a military museum formerly housed in the Donkin Reserve complex and the regimental museum of the Prince Alfred’s Guard Regiment.
The Prince Alfred’s Guard (PAG), is a City Regiment which was founded in 1856 as the Port Elizabeth Volunteer Rifle Corps. Its name changed by Royal assent after it provided a Royal Guard for Prince Alfred, second son of Queen Victoria, on his visit to the City in 1860.

The Victorian Drill Hall, in which the museum is housed, is one of the finest surviving examples of its type. It was opened in 1880 and has been the regiment’s headquarters ever since. The building, a National Monument, has been extensively restored and partly converted to museum use. Visiting hours: By appointment.
Contact / ReservationsPrince Alfred's Guard Museum


Alternatively contact the TOURISM call centre on +27 (0) 41 582 2575

MAP

Latitude : -33° 57' 47.74" S | Longitude : 25° 37' 15.64" E

Services

Car Parking Available Yes
Day Visitors Allowed Yes

Experience

Food and Entertainment

Entertainment & Shopping
Family Activities

Things to See and Do

Arts & Culture
Monuments

Historical
Buildings
Historical Places
Memorials
Monuments
Museums
Places