Searching Things to See and Do
Displaying result 11 - 20 of 20
The Port Elizabeth City Hall, which is located in Market Square, was built between 1858 and 1862. The attractive clock tower was only added in 1883. The City Hall serves as a Council Chamber as well as a concert hall, a lecture hall and offices for city council employees.
The Horse Memorial, located on the corner of Russell and Cape Roads, was erected and dedicated to the horses killed during the South African War (1899-1902).
The Prestor John Memorial, unveiled in 1986 by the then Portuguese Ambassador to South Africa, is dedicated to the mythical king-priest, Prester John, and the Portuguese explorers who discovered South Africa. The memorial consists of a large Coptic cross and, in the central circle, are the...
Afroventures specializes in Addo Elephant National Park Safaris, single and multi day tours throughout the Eastern & Western Cape.
Rates from R400
The Prince Alfred's Guard Memorial is situated on top of Port Elizabeth's second oldest water reservoir and commemorates the men of Port Elizabeth's Volunteer Regiment who died in various campaigns.
Calabash Tours offers ground breaking tours that cover both the historical heart of the city, and the vibrant energy of the black townships pulsing with the spirit of a rich culture and a friendly people wanting to share their diversity and spirit.
Rates from R500
Fort Frederick, Port Elizabeth, which is located along Belmont Terrace, Central, is a stone fort built in 1799 by the British Forces to defend the mouth of the Baakens River.
No 7 Castle Hill was completed in 1825 and is one of the oldest surviving Settler cottages in Port Elizabeth.
The Donkin Street houses were built between 1860 and 1880. The row of terraced houses, each lower than the preceding one, is remarkable in that they are integrated in a single unit. The whole street was declared a national monument in 1967. The land was created by filling in the natural kloof.
The Prince Alfred's Guard Museum grew out of a fusion of a military museum formerly housed in the Donkin Reserve complex and the regimental museum of the Prince Alfred’s Guard Regiment.