Searching Things to See and Do
Displaying result 1 - 10 of 24
The Prestor John Memorial, unveiled in 1986 by the then Portuguese Ambassador to South Africa, is dedicated to the mythical king-priest, Prester John, and the Portuguese explorers who discovered South Africa. The memorial consists of a large Coptic cross and, in the central circle, are the...
The Port Elizabeth City Hall, which is located in Market Square, was built between 1858 and 1862. The attractive clock tower was only added in 1883. The City Hall serves as a Council Chamber as well as a concert hall, a lecture hall and offices for city council employees.
Calabash Tours offers ground breaking tours that cover both the historical heart of the city, and the vibrant energy of the black townships pulsing with the spirit of a rich culture and a friendly people wanting to share their diversity and spirit.
Rates from R500
Situated on the original farm Strandfontein, along Marine Drive. Once owned by Trekker Piet Retief, the memorial was erected at Coega in 1939 and moved in 1975. Piet Retief was one of the Great Trek leaders who was killed by Zulu King "Dingaan".
Donkin Reserve, located off Belmont Terrace, Central, and overlooking the city, was proclaimed an open space in perpetuity by Sir Rufane Donkin.
No 7 Castle Hill was completed in 1825 and is one of the oldest surviving Settler cottages in Port Elizabeth.
This memorial commemorates those who died in the Basuto Campaign from 1880-1882, and Morosi Mountain in 1879. Morosi's Mountain was the name given to a fortified mountain in the Drakensberg mountain range on the banks of the Orange River in southern Basutoland (modern Lesotho). It was the...
The MBDA's Route 67 consists of 67 Public Art Works symbolising Nelson Mandela's 67 years of work dedicated to the Freedom of South Africa and includes 67 steps leading up the second largest flag in Africa. The artworks were designed by local artists from the Eastern Cape. The route is proud...
The Donkin Heritage Trail links 51 places of historical interest in the old Hill area of central Port Elizabeth.